By How We Used To Live, the local history group for Emery Down and surrounding hamlets.
The Running Horse – in the 1780s the house that became Emery Down Vicarage was referred to as ‘late Running Horse’.
In 1844, John and Andrew Young of Vernals Brewery, Shrubbs Hill, kept a beerhouse at Northerwood Gate.
In 1868, Sarah Dugdale, who had a publichouse in Emery Down, was prosecuted for selling beer illegally at a fair at Swan Green.
Camp Hill Cottage was a beerhouse.
The New Forest Inn
In 1801 Thomas Walton encroached land with a ‘new cottage on wheels’ where the New Forest Inn stands now. Thomas left his property to his eight children but eventually the house came into the sole possession of his son-in-law, Charles Taplin, a carpenter. Taplin with his Walton in-laws who were mainly sawyers, could have extended the central part of the building, possibly from the ‘cottage on wheels’, because circles can be seen over the windows.
An ale house is recorded on the site in 1859 run by Henry Keeping (son of the landlord of The John Barleycorn at Cadnam) with lodgings run by his wife, Emily Taplin – in the house to the right of the inn, now part of the premises.
By 1878 the inn is identified as a posting house.
The New Forest Inn became popular by hiring out horses and carriages and later motors to explore the forest and by renting furnished rooms and providing teas for visitors.